Midterm election information

This year is the midterm election meaning Dubois County voters will have an opportunity to vote for candidates representing them in several county, township and state positions as well as the seats for U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives 8th District.

The filing time period is now open for candidates. The deadline for filing for the primary for Republican or Democratic tickets is February 4, 2022, at noon. (A list of candidates and offices are at the end of the story.)

Primary Election Day is Tuesday, May 3, 2022, and the General Election will be held on Tuesday, November 8, 2022.

In 2021, the county election board went through the process of becoming a vote center county. This means that every registered voter in Dubois County can cast their ballot at any open polling location in the county.

On Election Day, voters can cast their ballot the following locations: Jasper Middle School, Thyen-Clark Cultural Center in Jasper, St. Mary’s Community Center in Ireland, the Huntingburg Event Center, Holland United Methodist Church, Tri-County YMCA in Ferdinand, Celestine Community Center, St. Anthony Community Center, and Dubois Ruritan Park.

Early voting sites will be hosted at the Courthouse Annex, Tri-County YMCA, Huntingburg Event Center, and the 35th Street Fire Station in Jasper for 28 days prior to Election Day.

Roaming Board Sites will be set up the week before the election from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. On Monday the board will be at St. Henry CK of A; Tuesday at the Haysville Fire Station; Wednesday at the Schnellville Fire Station; Thursday at the Dubois Library; and Friday at the Birdseye Fire Station.

The following offices are up for election this year. We have included the candidates that have filed so far.

U.S. Senate
U.S. House of Representatives

Indiana Senate — Mark Messmer (R)
Indiana House of Representatives — District 63: Shane Lindauer (R); District 74:

In Dubois County:

Dubois County Sheriff — Tom Kleinhelter (R)
Clerk — Amy Kippenbrock (R)
Auditor — Sandy Morton (D)
Assessor — Angie Giesler (R)
Dubois County County Council
District 1 — Craig Greulich (R)
District 2 — Ryan Craig (R)
District 3 — Meredith Voegerl (R)
District 4 — Alex Hohl (R)
Dubois County Commissioners
Commission District 2 — Becky Beckman (D); Serice Stenftenagel (R) (All Dubois County voters vote for commissioners)
Birdsey Town Council (three seats)
Birdseye Clerk Treasurer
Township Trustees
Bainbridge — Ken Buck (D)
Cass — Jim Meyer (D)
Columbia — Larry Gene Hall (R)
Harbison — Marvin Eisenhut (R)
Madison — Scott Blazey (R)
Patoka — Eric D. Jochim (R)
Township boards (three seats in each district)
Bainbridge — James A. Schroeder (D); Greg (Ed) Hollinden (D); Gerald J. (Gerry) Miller (D)
Columbia — James Leon Wineinger (R)
Harbison — Martin Beckman (R); Dalcus G. Fuhrman (R)
Madison — Alan Small (R)
School Boards
Greater Jasper Consolidated School Corporation District 1
Greater Jasper Consolidated School Corporation District 3
Southeast Dubois County School Corporation District B
Southeast Dubois County School Corporation District D
Southwest Dubois County School Corporation District 1
Southwest Dubois County School Corporation District 2
Southwest Dubois County School Corporation District 3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *